NORAD NEWS

NORAD Visits the NYSE and Prepares to Track Santa

By NORAD and USNORTHCOM Public Affairs | December 17, 2010

On Monday, December 20, the Commander of the North American Aerospace Defense Command (NORAD) and executives from Google, Booz Allen Hamilton and the Marine Toys for Tots Foundation, who help sponsor the NORAD Tracks Santa Program, will join together at the New York Stock Exchange (NYSE) alongside the one and only Macy’s Santa to get people geared up to track Santa as he makes his yuletide journey.

For the 55th consecutive year, the men and women of the North American Aerospace Defense Command are ready to track Santa! The NORAD Tracks Santa website, www.noradsanta.org, features holiday games and activities that change daily. The website is available in seven languages: English, French, German, Italian, Japanese, Spanish, and Chinese. On Dec. 24, the website will stream videos, captured by NORAD “Santa Cams,” from cities along Santa’s journey.

Santa trackers will begin answering phones and replying to email at 2:00 a.m. MST (4:00 a.m. EST) on December 24 and will continue until 3:00 a.m. MST (5:00 a.m. EST) December 25. Children of all ages can then call the NTS toll-free number 1-877-Hi-NORAD (1-877-446-6723) or send an email to noradtrackssanta@gmail.com.  

The North American Aerospace Defense Command (NORAD) is a bi-national United States and Canadian organization charged with the missions of aerospace warning, aerospace control and maritime warning for North America. Aerospace warning includes the monitoring of man-made objects in space, and the detection, validation, and warning of attack against North America whether by aircraft, missiles, or space vehicles, through mutual support arrangements with other commands. Aerospace control includes ensuring air sovereignty and air defense of the airspace of Canada and the United States. The May 2006 NORAD Agreement renewal added a maritime warning mission, which entails a shared awareness and understanding of the activities conducted in U.S. and Canadian maritime approaches, maritime areas and inland waterways.

Contact:
NYSE Media contact: Annmarie Gioia at 212.656.5437 or agioia@nyx.com
NORAD Media contact: LCDR Bill Lewis at 719.556.9670 or William.lewis@nothcom.mil

Important note to media entering the NYSE: 
The use of wireless equipment/gear/microphones is not permitted inside the NYSE due to interference with NYSE broadcasting frequencies. When necessary, wired mics should be utilized.

Photo/Video:
Photos available via Associated Press/New York (212.621.1902), Reuters America (646.223.6285) and Bloomberg Photo (212.617.3420). The Closing Bell (starting at 3:55 p.m.) feed is available via Ascent loop #4009. Media seeking footage via The Switch should contact the NYSE Broadcast Center at 212.656.5483.

Webcast:
A live webcast of The Closing Bell (beginning at 3:59 p.m.) will be available on the homepage of nyx.com.